State of Maine Department of Health and Human Services Intention of Marriage Application (VS2-A)

Please type or clearly print with **black ink**

		Please t	ype or cle	early pr	rint with <u>black</u>	ink			
Party A (check one:)		□ Bride □ Groom			-		Proposed Date of Marriage:		
(Please complete t			if Party 2	A is les	s than the age	of 18.)			
1. Current Name (F	irsi, miaai	e, Lasi, Sujjix)							
2. Name Prior to Fin	rst Marriag	e (First, Middle	e, Last, Si	uffix)					
3. Birthplace State	4. Birth	place Country	5. Dat	e of Bi	of Birth (<i>mm/dd/yyyy</i>) 6.		Age 7. Sex: □ Male		
-							-	□ Female	
								□ Nonbinary X	
8. Father/Parent Name Prior to First Marriage (<i>First, Middle, Last, Suffix</i>) 9. Birthp								te 10. Country	
11. Mother/Parent Name Prior to First Marriage (First, Middle, Last, Suffix) 12. Birthplac								ate 13. Country	
14. Party A Residence Address (Street number, name and/or designator)15.							/Town		
16. County	16. County 17. State				18. Country			19. Zip Code	
10. County		17. State			10. Country			19. Zip Code	
20. Party A Mailing Address (Street or PO) (Apt/Unit) 21. City							/Town		
22. County		23. State			24. Country			25. Zip Code	
26. Party A Telephone Number (10 digits)					27. Party A E-mail Address (applicable)	
		((-5	·FF ·······	
28. Party A Proposed	l New Nan	ne After this Ma	arriage (F	First, M	liddle, Last, Sų	ffix)	29. So	cial Security Number*	
30. Number of this Marriage: (First, Second, etc.) 31. If Prev						ously Married, Last Marriage Ended by:			
					\Box Death \Box Divorce \Box Annulment				
32. Date Last Marria	ge Ended ((mm/dd/yyyy)	33. Nam	ne of Fo	ormer Spouse	(First, Mia	ldle, Lasi	t, Suffix)	
24	60	t	10		Deed				
34. Name and Locati	on of Cour	t <u>or</u> City/State	and Cour	itry of	Death				
35. Is Party A registe	red with th	e State of Mair	ne as a Do	omestic	Partner? \Box Y	es □ No	0		
36. First cousins are	required by	v law to obtain a				ing by a pl	nysician.	Are you first cousins?	
	T1 1			$es \square$		1 1 .	C 1	1 1 11 11 0	
6	-	-					-	nowledge and belief and ication is valid only for	
	-						iy appi	ication is valid only to	
marriages performed in the State of Maine to obtain a r Signature of Party A								Date Signed	
								C	
The above-named pa							U	U	
Notaries, please do n						ntions or n			
Signature of Notary Public or Filing Official				Printed Name				Date Signed	
		C							
Signature of Notary I My Term Expires	City/Tow	'n		County	y			State	

*Federal law requires the collection of social security numbers from applicants for a marriage license. (42 USC §666). **The SSN is confidential** *information and may not be disclosed (1 M.R.S. §402 (3)(N).* This document (the "State of Maine Intentions of Marriage" application) becomes a public record 50 years *after* the date on this intention to marry application (19-A M.R.S. §651). Because the SSN is confidential information that may *not* be disclosed, the SSN must be deleted (redacted) from this document before it is open for public inspection after 50 years. The social security number (SSN) is retained by the State Agency and the municipal clerks responsible for the administration of the vital statistics system.

State of Maine Department of Health and Human Services Intention of Marriage Application (VS2-A)

Please type or clearly print with black ink

			rint with <u>black</u>				
Party B (check one:)	D Bride			•		Proposed Date of Marriage:	
(Please complete the Paren 27 Current Name (First Mid	V	if Party B is le	ss than the age	of 18.)			
37. Current Name (First, Mia	ale, Lasi, Sujjix)						
38. Name Prior to First Marri	age (First, Middle	e, Last, Suffix)					
		-					
39. Birthplace State 40. Bi	rthplace Country	41. Date of I	ate of Birth $(mm/dd/yyyy)$ 42. A			•	
						□ Female	
44. Father/Parent Name Prior	to First Marriago	(Einst Middle	Last Suffix)	15 Dintl	place State	$\Box \text{ Nonbinary } X$	
+4. ramer/ratent Name rnor	43. DIIU	iplace State	e 46. Country				
47. Mother/Parent Name Price	place State	e 49. Country					
	-						
50. Party B Residence Addre	51. City	/Town					
52. County	53. State		54. Country			55. Zip Code	
56. Party B Mailing Address	(Street or PO) (A)	nt/Unit)		57. City	/Town		
50. Tarty D Mannig Address	(Sireei 01 1 0) (Ap			57. City	TOWI		
58. County	3. County 59. State			1		61. Zip Code	
•		60. Country			1		
62. Party B Telephone Numb	E-mail Ad	dress (If ap	plicable)				
		· /=		<i>co</i>)	(7 0)	10	
64. Party B Proposed New N	ame After this Ma	urriage (First, N	Aiddle, Last, Su	ffix)	65. Socia	al Security Number*	
66. Number of this Marriage:	(First Second at	tc)	67 If Previo	usly Marr	ied Last M	arriage Ended by:	
00. Number of this Marriage.		67. If Previously Married, Last Marriage Ended by: □ Death □ Divorce □ Annulment					
68. Date Last Marriage Ende	1 (mm/dd/yyyy)	69. Name of H	Former Spouse				
6	(5555)		1		, ,	55 /	
70. Name and Location of Co	ourt <u>or</u> City/State a	and Country of	Death				
71. Is Party B registered with	the State of Mair	ne as a Domest	ic Partner? \Box	Yes □ N	0		
72. First cousins are required	by law to obtain	a cortificate of	constin course	ling by a n	hysisian	Ara you first cousins?	
72. Thist cousins are required	by law to obtain			ing by a p	ilysiciali. A	Are you mist cousins:	
Signed Certification ~ I here	by certify that the			to the best	of my kno	wledge and belief and	
that I am free to marry under							
marriages performed in the S					• • •	•	
Signature of Party B					Date Signed		
►							
The above-named party has p	• • •				-	2	
Notaries, please do not use a				ntions or n			
Signature of Notary Public or ►	Printe	Printed Name			Date Signed		
My Term Expires City/Te	Count	V		S	tate		
	· · · - 1	Count	- ,				
Federal law requires the collection	of social security nur	mbers from applic	ants for a marriag	e license. (4	2 USC §666). The SSN is confidentia	

*Federal law requires the collection of social security numbers from applicants for a marriage license. (42 USC §666). *The SSN is confidential information and may not be disclosed (1 M.R.S. §402 (3)(N).* This document (the "State of Maine Intentions of Marriage" application) becomes a public record 50 years *after* the date on this intention to marry application (19-A M.R.S. §651). Because the SSN is confidential information that may *not* be disclosed, the SSN must be deleted (redacted) from this document before it is open for public inspection after 50 years. The social security number (SSN) is retained by the State Agency and the municipal clerks responsible for the administration of the vital statistics system.

State of Maine Department of Health and Human Services Intention of Marriage Application (VS2-A)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PARTIES: Complete every item carefully. Type or neatly print in BLACK ink only. Check the boxes and sign the certification portion in the presence of a notary public, municipal clerk or the State Registrar. Return the completed intentions to the municipality in which at least one party resides or the State Registrar of Vital Statistics. If neither applicant is a Maine resident, parties may file the completed intentions in any municipality or the State Registrar of Vital Statistics.

Previously Married Persons

Persons who have been previously married must present a certified copy of the death certificate of the deceased spouse or the record of divorce or annulment prior to a marriage license being issued. A record of divorce from another state or foreign country is evidence of divorce. If the record is not in English, the record must be translated into English by a disinterested 3rd person at the parties' expense. A marriage contracted when either party fails to submit a certificate or certified copy of the divorce decree or annulment of the last marriage or the death certificate of the last spouse or when either party makes false representations about previous marriages to obtain a marriage license, the marriage will become VOID.

Parties under 18 Years of Age

A marriage license may not be issued to persons under 18 years of age without the written consent of their parents, guardians, or persons to whom a court has given custody. In the absence of persons qualified to give consent, the judge of probate in the county where each minor resides may grant consent after notice and opportunity for hearing.

If both parents are living and have joint custody, the written consent of both parents is required. If a parent is no longer living, a certified copy of the death certificate of the parent and the birth certificate of the party listing the parent is required.

Parties under 16 years of age are not permitted to be married in the State of Maine and a marriage license must not be issued.

Related Parties (First Cousins)

If parties are related as specified by Title 19-A §701 subsection 2, the parties must provide a signed certification certificate from a physician stating that they have received genetic counseling.

Incarcerated Parties

If either of the parties to the marriage are incarcerated in a state correctional facility, a marriage license may be issued (after filing the intentions) without the incarcerated party's original signature on the marriage license. A letter from the facility in which the party is incarcerated must be provided to the issuing official to obtain the marriage license. The letter must be on facility letterhead and state that the party is incarcerated. The signature of the incarcerated party must be obtained on the marriage license at the time the ceremony is performed.

Imminent Death

An authoritative request must be presented at the time marriage intentions are filed from a minister, clergyman, priest, rabbi, or attending physician stating that the death of either party is imminent. The authoritative request must be on facility letterhead, provide the name of patient, state that death is imminent and state the patient is conscious and coherent. The patient must make it known that it is their wish to be married and sign the letter in addition to the signature and printed name of the minister, clergyman, priest, rabbi, or attending physician declaring death is imminent.

Marriage License

Once the marriage intentions have been filed, a marriage license may be issued and is valid for 90 days from the date the intentions were filed. Each party to the intended marriage shall complete the license by appearing in person before the municipal clerk or State Registrar to sign the certification statement on the marriage license. The parties are responsible to provide the marriage license to the Officiant who will solemnize the marriage by performing a marriage ceremony, completing the marriage ceremony section on the marriage license, and obtaining the original signatures of two witnesses who are physically present during the ceremony. The Officiant must return the marriage license to the issuing authority who issued the license within 7 days after the ceremony was performed.